A Review – Vietnam Restaurant, Georgen Straße 25 (across the road from the Friedrichstraße U-bahn station), 10117 Berlin

  • 12th August 2011 (part 9 of the Berlin Posts)

Vietnamese  food is my personal favourite. I came here around three years ago and was really pleased with the food, and so I felt it would be worth making a visit. I tried two dishes and found unfortunately that both were consistently bad. I was really unhappy with the food. It was my birthday and I was looking forward to a nice meal – I was very disappointed. From the photos below, the two dishes do not look in anyway particularly bad. However, I tried the fried red perch fillet with mixed vegetables with a tamarind sauce that was listed on the menu as being spicy and found that the coating to the fried red perch fillet was so brittle that I had to stab at it with my knife in a very gruesome way, the tamarind sauce was bland and the vegetables were tasteless and possibly old. The other dish I tried was the grilled chicken with lemongrass and chilli delivered at the table attractively sizzling away on a hot pan. This dish which was also listed on the menu as being spicy, I found it to be tasteless and bland. The consistency of the sauce was as though lots of monosodium glutamate had been added and reminded me of those awful bottled sauces found in supermarkets that contain no fresh ingredients. Similarly, the vegetables were tasteless. Overall, both dishes lacked flavour and freshness.

A consistently bad and disappointing meal. No website could be found for this restaurant.

Consistently bad - fried red perch fillet with mixed vegetables with a tamarind sauce

Consistently bad - grilled chicken with lemongrass and chilli

Leave a Reply

